Awards and Accolades Owl Image

2017-2018 Awards & Accolades

Might Owl Band

On September 20, 2017, eleven (11) members of the Mighty Owl Band participated in All Region Jazz Band auditions at North Mesquite HS.  GHS has more AREA musicians than ever before, as 7 of the 11 made a band and 5 of them are now advancing to the state level.   This is most outstanding and clearly demonstrates the energy and pride existing the MOB.  Congratulations:

  • Collin Schlosser* - alto sax
  • Miguel Guzeman* - AREA tenor sax
  • Keaton McGill* - AREA trumpet
  • Jennifer Andrews* - AREA trumpet
  • Sonny Arguinlzoni* - trumpet
  • Brennan Youngblood* - AREA bass guitar
  • Aaron Goins* - AREA drum set
*AVAPA members

Speech & Debate

GHS Speech & Debate competed at Plano Senior and Clark Swing (two tournaments in one weekend) September 1 and 2, 2017. Congrats to senior Bethany Bass on a 6th place Original 
Oratory. Juniors, Trevor Stewart and Benjamin Varnan, placed FIRST in Duo Acting at BOTH Plano Senior and Clark qualifying for both State & Nationals at the first tournament of the year creating a new GHS record, because it has never been done before! 


powered by finalsite