School spirit & history

Our mission statement

"Where Excellence Soars!"

We say it... we mean it... from our newest kindergarten student to our most advanced fifth grader... it actually happens everyday.  We at Shorehaven believe that “if a student cannot learn the way we teach, then we will teach in a way the student can learn.”

Our mascot is "Eduardo, the Eagle".

Our school colors are Maroon & White.

Shorehaven pledge

We pledge to respect one another and to be good citizens.
We pledge to believe in our abilities and work hard to achieve our goals.
We pledge to use this day, not to waste it, for today will never come again.

History of Shorehaven

Ms. Gala Dodd, who retired from Shorehaven in 2002, had these fond memories to share:

Shorehaven Elementary opened for students in the fall of 1968 under the leadership of Herman Salter. The building contained sixteen classrooms and a cafeteria/auditorium.

As the neighborhood grew, so did Shorehaven. Around 1972 a new addition was built onto the back hallway of the school. The new area was built to be an "open classroom." The fourth and fifth grade classrooms surrounded a very small school library.

In 1975 James Delmar became the Principal of Shorehaven. The school continued to grow. In 1979 another addition was completed. The new area housed a Counselor's office, Kindergarten, speech, a small classroom, and a gymnasium. During this construction, a classroom was converted to a computer laboratory.

Cleburn Rainey was the Principal of Shorehaven for the 1983-84 school year. When he moved to Heather Glen in 1984, Dr. Jewel Reed was appointed Principal. The school underwent minor renovations during Dr. Reed's tenure.

Shorehaven staff from 1991 to 1992

Above: Staff 1991-1992, with Dr. Jewel Reed

In 1992 Mitt Price came to Shorehaven as Principal. Mr. Price was responsible for Shorehaven moving from a TEA Acceptable campus to a Recognized campus. He helped the school develop the "family" atmosphere that it still enjoys.

Dr. John Bragg became the sixth Principal of Shorehaven in 2001. Under his leadership, Shorehaven students and staff earned our first Exemplary rating from the Texas Education Agency.

Dr. Patricia Tremmel became the seventh Principal of Shorehaven in 2006. Under her leadership, and with a lot of hard work by the staff, teachers, and students, Shorehaven reached Recognized status once again in 2009, and once again earned the coveted Exemplary rating in 2010. After nine years of faithful service, she accepted a position with a nearby District.

Deborah Henson was named Principal in the fall of 2015. Our eighth Principal brings a wealth of experience to our campus, keeping the legacy of highest administrative standards in place for our educators, parents and students.

Academic excellence through the years

Shorehaven Elementary is proud of having achieved the following levels of academic excellence in recent years:

  • Recognized Campus, 2010 - 2011
  • Exemplary Campus, 2009 - 2010
  • Recognized Campus, 2008 - 2009
  • Exemplary Campus, 2001 - 2002
  • Recognized Campus, 2000 - 2001
  • Recognized Campus, 1998 - 1999
  • Recognized Campus, 1997 - 1998
  • Recognized Campus, 1994 - 1995